MOV’IN Cannes,
an international dance film competition

Visual © Grégoire Korganow - creation 2022 and the participation of the PNSD Rosella Hightower students

Cannes, the city where dance and cinema meet !

MOV’IN Cannes, an international dance film competition under the artistic direction of Didier Deschamps and Eric Oberdorff.

Take part in the competition and have a chance to be part of the pre-selection of films that will be screened during the Festival in front of an international jury of dance and film professionals.

 

Two ways to enter the competition :

  • via the international dance film festivals partners: Suzanne Dellal Center – Tel Aviv, Cinedance – Montreal, Inshadow Festival – Lisbon, Centre National de la Danse – Paris, Physical Cinema Festival – Reykjavik… Each partner will send its “favourite” film which will be included in the selection;

  • via the link below, open from 1 December 2022 to April 15th 2023.

 

Selection Criteria :

  • use dance and movement in the subject matter or as a narrative or abstract device, in a documentary or fiction film
  • the film should not exceed 10 minutes
  • open to all French or international productions and co-productions

Among several prizes, the author of the winning film selected will benefit from a creative residency currently being built with Cannes – Bastide Rouge, the G. Méliès University Campus and the Ministry of Culture. The winners’ productions will be broadcast on the numeridanse.tv digital platform.

The award ceremony will take place on Thursday 30th of November 2023 at the Cineum in Cannes.

Participate and join us!

Didier Deschamps
Eric Oberdorff

Teaser directed by Eric Oberdorff – Cie Humaine

Freely inspired by the visual created by Grégoire Korganow for Mov’in Cannes

Music credit Merakhaazan

With the kind complicity of the students of the PNSD Rosella Hightower

and the teams of the Palais des Festivals, Cannes and Scène 55, Mougins

Editorial

Dance and Cinema have always been happily linked. In 1895, cinema was invented by the Lumière brothers. At the same time, Thomas Edison’s Studios in the USA produced the first colourised film in history with the famous Serpentine Dance by choreographer Loïe Fuller. A few months later in Paris, the Gaumont Studios and the director Alice Guy took up the same subject. The link with dance was thus created instantly. These two major arts of the 20th century would never leave each other, feeding each other’s writing, constantly innovating, renewing and reinventing themselves.

Dancing in the cinema, it is first of all the musicals that come to mind, the elegance of Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers, the virtuosity of the Nicholas Brothers, the choreographed fights of West Side Story, the swaying of John Travolta in Saturday Night Fever and even the improbable and hilarious duet between Mowgli and Baloo in The Jungle Book. Scenes of joy, poetry, beauty, carried by bodies in movement, this universal body that allows each of us to recognize and to project ourselves. A body that is the receptacle of emotions but also the bearer of freedom, dreams, desire and resistance. Dance makes it possible to bring a different, shifted, strong glance on the world that surrounds us. We are reminded of Charlie Chaplin’s bun dance, the exhausted dancers in On achève bien les chevaux, the fierce will of the young performer in Billy Elliot or the fight for a free society in Ken Loach’s formidable Jimmy’s Hall.

To the whole planet, Cannes is the city of Cinema but it is also the city of Dance! It is therefore quite natural that the Cannes – Côte d’Azur Dance Festival has imagined a prestigious setting to connect them together by launching an international dance film competition. With MOV’IN CANNES, the City of Cannes brings together two of the major arts of contemporary creation and culture, both knowledgeable and popular.

Didier Deschamps & Eric Oberdorff

Artistic co-directors of Mov’in Cannes

Visuel © Grégoire Korganow - création 2022 et la participation des élèves du PNSD Rosella Hightower

MOV’IN Cannes,
une compétition internationale de films de danse

Cannes, la ville où la danse et le cinéma se rencontrent !

MOV’IN Cannes, une compétition internationale de films de danse sous la direction artistique de Didier Deschamps et Eric Oberdorff.

Participez au concours et ayez la chance de faire partie de la pré-sélection des films qui seront projetés dans le cadre du Festival devant un jury international de professionnels de la danse et du cinéma.


Deux modes de participation pour concourir :

  • via les festivals de films de danse internationaux partenaires : Suzanne Dellal Center – Tel Aviv, Cinédance – Montréal, Festival Inshadow – Lisbonne, Centre National de la Danse – Paris, Physical Cinema Festival – Reykjavik… Chaque partenaire adressera son film « coup de cœur » qui intégrera la sélection ;
  • via l’appel à participation ci-dessous ouvert du 1er décembre 2022 au 1er mars 2023.


Critères à respecter :

  • utiliser la danse et le mouvement dans le propos ou comme dispositif narratif ou abstrait, documentaire ou imaginaire
  • être d’une durée inférieure à 10 minutes
  • ouvert à toutes les productions et coproductions françaises ou internationales

Parmi plusieurs prix, l’auteur du film lauréat sélectionné bénéficiera d’une résidence de création en cours de construction avec Cannes – Bastide Rouge, le Campus universitaire G. Méliès et le Ministère de la Culture. Les productions des lauréats seront diffusées sur la plateforme numeridanse.tv.

La cérémonie de remise des prix aura lieu le jeudi 30 novembre 2023 au Cineum à Cannes.

Posez votre candidature et rejoignez-nous !

Didier Deschamps
Eric Oberdorff

Teaser réalisé par Eric Oberdorff – Cie Humaine

Librement inspiré du visuel créé par Grégoire Korganow pour Mov’in Cannes

Crédit musique Merakhaazan

Avec l’aimable complicité des élèves du PNSD Rosella Hightower

et des équipes du Palais des Festivals, Cannes et de Scène 55, Mougins

 

Edito

Danse et Cinéma entretiennent depuis toujours avec bonheur des liens étroits. En 1895, le cinéma est inventé par les Frères Lumière. Dans le même temps, les Studios de Thomas Edison aux USA produisent le premier film colorisé de l’histoire avec la célèbre Danse serpentine de la chorégraphe Loïe Fuller. Quelques mois plus tard à Paris, les Studios Gaumont et la réalisatrice Alice Guy s’empareront du même sujet. Le lien avec la danse s’est donc créé instantanément. Ces deux arts majeurs du 20e siècle ne se quitteront plus, nourrissant leurs écritures l’une de l’autre, innovant sans cesse, se renouvelant, se réinventant inlassablement.

 

La danse au cinéma, ce sont d’abord les comédies musicales qui nous viennent en tête, l’élégance de Fred Astaire et Ginger Rogers, la virtuosité des Nicholas Brothers, les combats chorégraphiés de West Side Story, les déhanchements de John Travolta dans la Fièvre du samedi soir et même l’improbable et désopilant duo Mowgli et Baloo dans le Livre de la Jungle. Des scènes de joies, de poésie, de beauté, portés par les corps en mouvement, ce corps universel qui permet à chacun de se reconnaître et de se projeter. Un corps réceptacle des émotions mais également porteur de liberté, de rêve, de désir, de résistance. La danse permet ainsi d’apporter un regard différent, décalé, fort sur le monde qui nous entoure. Nous viennent alors en mémoire la danse des petits pains de Charlie Chaplin, les danseurs épuisés de On achève bien les chevaux, la volonté farouche du jeune interprète de Billy Elliot ou encore le combat pour une société libre dans le formidable Jimmy’s Hall de Ken Loach.

Pour la planète entière, Cannes est la ville du Cinéma ; c’est aussi celle de la Danse ! C’est donc bien naturellement que le Festival de Danse Cannes – Côte d’Azur a imaginé offrir un écrin prestigieux à leur rencontre en lançant une compétition internationale de films de danse.
Avec MOV’IN CANNES, la Cité Cannoise réunit deux des arts majeurs de la création contemporaine et de la culture à la fois savante et populaire.

Didier Deschamps
Eric Oberdorff
Co-directeurs artistiques de Mov’in Cannes